How-To

Support > Admin > Tasks

Tasks

RiskBase has four main types of Task.

Create Refers to the task of creating a new assessment or survey.
Submit Refers to an assessment/survey showing as ‘In Progress’, meaning it has been started but not submitted.
Approve For an assessment/survey submitted by the assessor and needs an approver to review it.
Remedial Action When an assessment is Approved, the actions from the assessment turn into Tasks and get automatically assigned to responsible people.

View Task List

  1. Go to https://admin.riskbase.uk
  2. Right click on an organisation in the explorer.
  3. Select Tasks.

Search & Filter

Use the filter to norrow your list to specific tasks.

You can filter by:

  • Type
  • Assigned
  • Category
  • Timescale
  • Status
  • Timescale
  • Property Group
  • Timescale

Show your filtered results

  1. Use the filter check boxes to make your selections.
  2. Click Load.

Editing Details

Most of the tasks details are likely to have been created based on the defaults associated with the task, which where set when Creating our action templates. We may now wish to edit these, for example schedule and allocate the task to a particular project (assuming the project has already been created).

Although adding the task to a project in this way is an option, we recommend Adding Tasks In Bulk via project management if you wish to add multiple tasks.

Edit Task Details

  1. Double click on a task to show details.
  2. Click Edit Task.
  3. Edit fields.
  4. Click Save Task.

Update Task Status

All Tasks that are added to RiskBase are initially assigned a ‘Not Started’ status, indicating that the completion of the task has not yet begun.

We will want to update remedial action tasks to reflect their progress

  • Not-started
  • In-progress
  • Completed
  • Cancelled

The status of a task can only be updated by its assigned user.

All non remedial action tasks (i.e ‘Create’, ‘Submit’ and ‘Approve’) for both assessments and asbestos surveys cannot be updated, these tasks will automatically updated as‘Complete’ once the assessments/surveys have been respectively created, submitted, or approved. Tasks containing asbestos points cannot be manually updated as complete. These will turn ‘Complete’ once added to an asbestos survey.

Update the status of a task

  1. Double click on a task.
  2. Select the status from the bottom pane
  3. Provide a comment (optional).
  4. Click Update Task

Comments added here appear under the Comments and Changes section of the task page providing a log of everyone's interactions with the task.

A cancelled task can be reopened

  1. Double click the cancelled task to open it
  2. Click Reopen Task.
  3. Select your name from the drop down and enter the date.
  4. Detail why task is being reopened.
  5. From the drop down, select the status that you would like the task to be reopened to.
  6. If you would like to send a notification to yourself or the assigned user informing of the reopened task, then tick the corresponding boxes.
  7. Click Reopen Task.

Adding Comments

Add a Comment

  1. Click Add Comment.
  2. Enter comment into field.
  3. Click Attach File (Optional).
  4. Click Save Comment.

Ticking the Basic box reduces the information displayed in the tasks history.

By enabling this function, only the tasks status history and added comments will be displayed.

Using Bulk Updates

We can use the Bulk Update button to update, complete or cancel multiple tasks at the same time.

This is done from either the Tasks page or from within a Project.

Before using bulk update be aware of these restrictions:

  • Only one type of task can be updated at a time (e.g, remedial actions) – once one type is selected all other types will automatically grey out in the data grid.
  • Some tasks cannot be completed or cancelled, so therefore cannot be bulk completed or cancelled either.
  • Projects cannot be Bulk Updated.
  1. In both the tasks, and any project page, you’ll see a ‘Bulk Update’ button at the top left; when selected, the filter pane is replaced by the bulk update pane.
  2. Select the tasks to update:
    • Multiple individual selections – hold down the Ctrl key and individually select each task row, or select the tick boxes (a ‘miss-click’ will cancel previous selections).
    • Bulk selection – Select a Task row (not tick box), hold down the Shift key and then select a Task that is several rows above or below it to include all Tasks in-between.
    • Multiple bulk selections – Complete the first bulk selection as above but release the Shift key and hold down the Ctrl key to begin the next bulk selection. Hold down the Shift key (whilst also holding the Ctrl key) to complete the second bulk selection. Repeat as many times as necessary.

We suggest clicking on the task rows and not the tick boxes. This is because the Ctrl and Shift key functions have no effect unless it’s the task row that’s being clicked on.

  1. In the left viewing pane, select ‘Complete’ or ‘Cancel’ button > for tasks that need updating, select and edit relevant fields before clicking Update.
    • Tasks cannot be updated as well as completed or cancelled at the same time; to achieve this perform each of these separately
    • The cancel button will cancel tasks, it does not ‘cancel’ you out of the bulk update page.
  2. (For complete and cancel operations) > enter the completed/cancelled by user name (change date/time if required) > optional comment will be displayed in the tasks history > click complete/cancel tasks button

Back

Support

Can't find what you're looking for?

Drop us an email

support@riskbase.uk